BOOK REVIEW: The Selection by Kiera Cass

 

image
The Selection Book Cover

 

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: Dystopian Young Adult Fantasy

Format: Ebook (epub file)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 5 stars

πŸ’«
SYNOPSIS

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herselfβ€”and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Credits: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10507293-the-selection

πŸ’«

Good day readers, this is my second blog post. Yehey! So first off, I want to tell you that I’ve read the book twice already. This time it is a reread.

I first read the book, way back in high school. I had a physical copy back then, which I borrowed from a close friend. The second time around, I read it as an ebook. I can’t afford to buy my own physical copy of the book or much the series as of now.

So to the review, I decided to reread because I kind of forgot the flow of the story and those little details that can adds some spice to the story. And since I badly want to read The One (third book of the series), it was a good decision to read The Selection first, then The Elite before I read The One. I need to know those minor details for me to understand the whole book.

I love who Kiera Cass wrote the book. The words she used are not complicated. I’m not the kind of person who has a wide vocabulary, so I find the book easy to read. I don’t have to actually list down those hard words and search it on a dictionary.

America, the protagonist of the story, is described so clear that you can picture her as someone you can be friends with. And the way she treats Aspen, it’s so unlike any girl I know. She has a huge heart that she can forgive anyone that had caused her pain but not easily giving in to their pleas. She’s the kind of girl a guy should not let go that easily. For her to not think about the social level of other people, makes her a better person than others.

Enough with America, let’s talk about Aspen. He is not that awful as a person but he’s pride is just not healthy for the relationship he shares with America. It’s unfair for America to be treated as if she didn’t care or love him at all. I understand that he is going through tough times but it doesn’t hurt if you accept someone else’s help, especially coming from the person you love the most. But I just can’t stand him leaving America because of his freaking pride. Can’t he just lower his pride? Because of his pride, he lost the girl he loves to The Selection. But he got fortunate to be a guard in the palace. So in general, I don’t like Aspen, AT ALL.

Maxon. Maxon. Maxon. Hearing his wonderful name makes me smile so big. He’s a prince, yes, but he is a person who doesn’t go through dating a girl for years before marrying her. I feel sorry for Maxon. It’s like he’s speed dating the 35 girls, especially that there are circumstances that the palace in under attack by rebels.Β  But I really like Maxon. The way he brings himself when faced with so many challenges, makes him the ideal guy for every girl. I adore him big time really. He’s like my fictional crush.

So what can I really say about the whole book?

Well, as much as I don’t like Aspen and few other girls, like Celeste, I love the book. It can’t be avoidable if there is someone you dislike. It’s normal and it brings spice and thrill in the story. I love the whole dystopian world and how royalty was shown in the story.

That’s about it. I can’t say anything else.

I can’t wait to start on The Elite soon. Still an ebook copy though.

Until next blog post, bibliophiles. πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Leave a comment if you have anything to say about my post and the book, itself.

Thank you for reading.

 

image
Current read last June 2016

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

