Book Haul and Wrap-up: June 2016

 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
June Book Haul

JUNE BOOK HAUL

Good bye June and hello July!

So June just ended and for the past 30 days, I was able to buy five (5) books, all from one store, BOOKSALE (Dumaguete branch).

On the very first day of June, I went to Booksale with my sister and mother. I wasn’t planning to buy any book but I came across two books that cost ₱10 each. And knowing myself, I bought it.

Who can’t resist buying a super cheap book?

Here they are:

The Postmistress by Sarah  Blake

Synopsis:

It is 1940, and bombs fall nightly on London.

In the thick of the chaos is young American radio reporter Frankie Bard. She huddles close to terrified strangers in underground shelters, and later broadcasts stories about survivors in rubble-strewn streets. But for her listeners, the war is far from home.

Listening to Frankie are Iris James, a Cape Cod postmistress, and Emma Fitch, a doctor’s wife. Iris hears the winds stirring and knows that soon the letters she delivers will bear messages of hope or tragedy. Emma is desperate for news of London, where her husband is working – she counts the days until his return.

But one night in London the fates of all three women entwine when Frankie finds a letter – a letter she vows to deliver…

The Postmistress is an unforgettable story of three women: their love, their partings and the secret they must bear, or bury…

A Spoonful of Sugar by Brenda Ashford

Synopsis:

“They say you can never truly love a child that is not your own, but that goes against every instinct that runs through me. For I have loved children born to other women all my life and every child that I have ever cared for, I’ve adored will all my heart. Many I would have laid down my life for, in fact on some memorable occasions when I fled to air raid shelters clutching my charges to my chest, I very nearly did…”

Brenda is 91 years old and spent 62 years working as a Norland Nanny just like a real-life Mary Poppins, Brenda devoted her life to giving children the best possible start in life. She began training at the Norland Institute in 1919 at the age of 18, shortly before war was declared. Brenda was determined to give the children in her care a wonderful childhood, regardless if the horrors that were unravelling on the continent, and when the blitz began, on their doorsteps.

This is a story from a time when nothing was taken for granted and life itself was in peril on a near-daily basis. But the wat also a time when people pulled together like never before or since, and it called upon Brenda to make sacrifices she’d never imagined having to make…

Warm, funny and incredible moving, Brenda’s memoir brings to life the colourful world of wartime England.

2016-07-03 08.24.55 1.jpg
Totally Cover Buys 😂

Then by June 24, I was able to go to the mall because it was a special day for me and my boyfriend. And of course we have to go and visit a book store. There are only two well-known bookstores in our city, namely: National Book Store and Book Sale. We went to National Book Store first and unfortunately for me, I wasn’t able to buy any book there because I was short of money. So we then went to Book Sale, I didn’t intend to buy any book but then I found two books written by Lisi Harrison that was part of her The Clique series and one that was written by Ally Condie.

Here are the books:

Crossed by Ally Condie

Synopsis:

            Chasing down an uncertain future, Cassia makes her way to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky—taken by the Society to his sure death—only to find that he has escaped into the majestic, but treacherous, canyons. On this wild frontier are glimmers of a different life and the enthralling promise of rebellion. But even as Cassia sacrifices everything to reunite with Ky, ingenious surprises from Xander may change the game once again.

             Nattated from both Cassia’s and Ky’s point of view, this hotly anticipated sequel to Matched will take them both to the edge of Society, where nothing is as expected and crosses and double crosses make their path more twisted than ever.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
My first hardback book that only cost me ₱80.

The Clique Summer Collection: Massie by Lisi Harrison

Synopsis:

            After Massie Block gets kicked off her high horse and out of her ultra-exclusive Westchester riding camp, her parents force her to do the unthinkable—find a summer job. Not one for dog-walking or brat-stalking, Massie comes up with the ah-bvious solution. She’ll be a sales rep for the cosmetics brand Be Pretty. Massie fully hearts her new role as fairy gawdmother of makeup—until she discovers transforming LBRs into glam-girls takes more than a swish of her royal purple mascara wand.

2016-07-03-08.24.57-1.jpg.jpeg
Never thought I could find this book anywhere.

The Clique Summer Collection: Claire by Lisi Harrison

Synopsis:

            Back in Orlando for the summer, Claire is reunited with her Florida best friends Sarah, Sari and Mandy after a long year apart. Her FBFFs haven’t changed at all. Too bad they think Claire has…and not for the better. She set out to prove her loyalty by helping her friends get ready to compete in Kissimmee’s Miss Kiss pageant. But when a very special visitor shows up and vows to win the crown, Claire finds herself torn between Keds and hawt couture. Will she finally kiss-immee her past goodbye—once and for all?

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
5th book of The Clique Summer Collection.

So that was all the books I was able to purchase during the month of June.

And now for the books I have read over the past 30 days of June.

2016-06-28 09.19.47 1.jpg
June Wrap-up

JUNE WRAP-UP

June just ended and I just want to share to some books I was able to finish that month. I was able to finish four books (2 physical copies and 2 ebooks) and 3 short stories (all ebook files).

Note: Just so you know, I totally can’t afford physical copies of books. Thats why I opt for ebook files.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Everyone, for sure, has read it already and maybe some have read it ever since it got published. Just like what I said in my book review, I was unfortunate to be able to own a copy or be able to read any form of books.

I rated it 5/5.

You all know the story so I don’t have to say much.

Best Friends For Never by Lisi Harrison

I just love Lisi Harrison’s The Clique series and by far this is the best book of all the books of this series that I currently own.

I’ll be rating it 5/5.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

I just posted my review on this book, so you would (or might not) have read it. Check it out if you want to.

Link to book review: https://rosebooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/02/book-review-the-selection-by-kiera-cass/

The Elite by Kiera Cass

I find this book so quick at the same time slow. (I hope it makes sense). I’m still on #TeamMaxon. But I find America quite annoying in this book. But nonetheless, I still love the series (even if I only read two books so far).

I’m rating it 4.5/5.

The Queen by Kiera Cass

It was so cool to have read Queen Amberly’s experiences as she goes through the selection. I love her so much but I dislike King Clarkson, especially in The Elite. But during this short story, he was fine, I guess. He treated Amberly well, so I guess, he’s kinda good.

I rate 4 out of 5 for this short story.

The Prince by Kiera Cass

*Speechless*

I wasn’t expecting that there was a girl in Maxon’s life before the whole selection happened. Although, I find it cool that he had some girl in his life. But it wasn’t really enough for him to get along with 35 girls and find a wife among them.

It’s also cool to know that he liked America since the night the 35 girls arrived at the palace. I like his persistence.

Rating it 5/5.

The Guard by Kiera Cass

I still don’t like him.

But I admire Kiera’s writing skills.

Rating it 3/5 because Kiera is awesome and 1/5 because I hate Aspen (sorry not sorry).

And that’s about it. I hope to read more books this July. And keep an eye on my July TBR List. It will be uploaded soon enough.

Thank you.

picsart_10-13-12.04.10.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Tumblr

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

