BOOK REVIEW: The One by Kiera Cass

15844362.jpg

“Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” –Prince Maxon

Title: The One (The Selection Book 3)

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult

Edition: First Paperback, 2015

Format: Paperback

Published by: Harper Teen

Published Year: 2014

Ratings: gold_stargold_stargold_stargold_stargold_star

149322stampelegantborderlyndsay.png

Synopsis:

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

35 Girls. 1 Crown. The Competition of a Lifetime.

149322stampelegantborderlyndsay.png

I was reading the last few chapters of the story in school with my boyfriend while waiting for our next class. We took turns in reading, chapter by chapter. He had to read the chapter first, which is kind of a disadvantage for me because he tends to spoil me with the events, but it’s cool. At least I have someone to talk to when I badly want to fangirl with someone while reading the book. We both love and hate how things went as the story ends.

A lot of things happened in both Maxon and America’s lives, but what I wasn’t expecting to happen, actually happened. I hated that some their loved ones are gone and could no longer be with them as they start their life together. But I was glad King Clarkson’s gone, he was such a pain in the arse. I hated that America’s Dad and Queen Amberly died. It was such a heart breaking event.

Another heart breaking event was when Celeste got shot straight to her head. I had grown to like Celeste and knowing she died before Maxon and America got married really pained me a lot. She’s not an awful person after all. It’s a waste to know she died.

And I thought Maxon would die when he got shot and was getting weaker, even though I already know that Maxon and America would end up together. But it still frightened me while I was reading, I almost cried (so stupid, Rose!).

All in all, I love it. But the ending seemed to be plain and boring. I was expecting it to be grand because it’s a royal wedding after all and finally the caste would be gone, but it wasn’t grand.

Now, I can’t wait to get my hands on The Heir and read it. I need a budget to buy it though.

Anyway, thank you for reading and let me know what your thoughts are of the books of Kiera Cass, specifically The One.

Love,

PicsArt_07-02-09.07.51

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The One by Kiera Cass

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

