BOOK REVIEW: Massie by Lisi Harrison

Hey there bibliophiles! I’m back again with a new book review. This time I’m going to review on a book by my favorite author (Lisi Harrison).

Processed with VSCO

Title: The Clique Summer Collection: Massie

Author: Lisi Harrison

Publisher: Poppy, Little Brown and Company

Format: Paperback

Edition: Scholastic Edition

Published: April 2008

Ratings: gold_stargold_stargold_stargold_star

Date started: July 14, 2016

Date finished: July 15, 2016

2016-07-03-08.24.57-1.jpg.jpeg
Massie by Lisi Harrison

Synopsis:

After Massie Block gets kicked off her high horse and out of her ultra-exclusive Westchester riding camp, her parents force her to do the unthinkable—find a summer job. Not one for dog-walking or brat-stalking, Massie comes up with the ah-bvious solution. She’ll be a sales rep for the cosmetics brand Be Pretty. Massie fully hearts her new role as fairy gawdmother of makeup—until she discovers transforming LBRs into glam-girls takes more than a swish of her royal purple mascara wand.

divider

Lisi Harrison is one of my favorite authors; she’s an auto-buy author for me. I’ve only read her The Clique Series but I still love her. This book is part of her The Clique Summer Collection. This is the first book of the collection. There are a total of five books in the said collection.

I know I’m very late with this book but I had troubles looking for these books. I have only 5 books from the main series and only 2 out of 5 of the summer collection. I am yet to find or hunt for these books.

So on with the review.

I find this book a little different from the series. As much as the rest of the Pretty Committee are not present, I still find it kind of odd. Maybe it’s because I got used to having all five of them around. But nonetheless, I like it.

I like how the story started with Massie at the Westchester riding camp. We all know Massie can get a little aggressive when it comes to being number 1 but what she did to the granddaughter of the owner of the riding camp was too much. I know she didn’t know that she was the granddaughter but regardless of that, she shouldn’t do such things to other people like that. But Massie is being Massie; we can’t avoid that from happening.

I love the fact that Massie had to find a way to repay her parents for the money spent to send her to the riding camp. It’s a great lesson for Massie to learn. But as much as she was able to repay her parents, she still hasn’t learned her lesson. But like I said earlier, Massie is just being Massie. That’s who she is and we can’t change that, no matter what.

I also like the fact that Massie was able to help teens like her with how they should enhance their beauties with the use of the cosmetics Massie is selling. I just don’t like how she treated those girls. I know she’s just being honest but her way of being honest is insulting. But I can’t argue with that. That’s how Lisi Harrison wrote the story and that’s Massie’s personality. I just have to deal with it because I love the series all in all.

I love the fact that the book was written as if Massie was the one writing it on a different point of view. I love it. You should go and read it for yourself.

You would certainly love it. Even if it is a book for teens, no matter what your age is, you would love it. I’m nineteen but I still read it, and like I said again and again earlier, I love it.

So thank you for reading and have a great day!

Love,

PicsArt_07-02-09.07.51

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Massie by Lisi Harrison

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

