BOOK REVIEW: Under Ground by Alice Rachel

picsart_09-26-09.47.50.jpg

Title: Under Ground

Author: Alice Rachel

Format: ebook

Genre: Romance. Dystopian, Young Adult

Started: September 1, 2016

Ended: September 25, 2016

Ratings: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o1

Blurb:

A girl forced into marriage. A boy born illegally. Two souls looking for answers. A forbidden relationship that could destroy them both.

Synopsis:

Love is a taboo, a mere fantasy— foreign, unreachable, and dangerous.

Raised in a society where women have no rights, seventeen-year-old Thia Clay holds little hope for a bright future. When her parents sell her into marriage to elite member William Fox, Thia slowly gives in to despair. William is nothing but a cruel, selfish young man with no other interest than to serve his own.

Born illegally and forced to hide from the authorities his entire life, nineteen-year-old Chi Richards is an active member of the Underground—a rebellious group seeking to overthrow the government.

Chi only has one goal—to rescue his parents from the work camp they were forced into.

Meeting Thia was never part of the plan, and neither was falling in love with her.

If caught in their forbidden relationship, Thia and Chi could face a death sentence, and when devastating secrets surface from Chi’s past, Thia has to rely on her instincts to make a choice that could save her or destroy her forever.

credits: Goodreads

 

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o1

Hello once again bibliophiles. I’m back again to do a book review.2016-09-06-10.37.54-1.jpg.jpeg

I planned to read this by October because by then I would receive my physical copy already, but since Alice is having a read-along this month, I decided to read it anyway. Plus she’s having a giveaway. So yeah, why not join right?

Honestly, I wasn’t hooked to the story when I first read it. I don’t blame the author or anyone though. I really have this kind of mind that I don’t really get hooked right away with the first chapter of the book. And I know that eventually I’ll get into it. So the moment I got to chapter 3, I was so into the story already.

The first part was a bit boring but I know it’s super important. The whole story is really amazing. It’s those dystopian kinds of stories that I super like.  So I really find dystopian stories worth reading.

Thia, the main character in the book, is someone that you would most likely relate yourself to. She’s about most of our age and she goes through the things that we usually go through too. Thia is like a typical cliché teen that obeys her mother and never question her mother’s authority. And then she got fed up with it and then questions her mother. (And I know most, if not all, went through that kind of phase before.)

Then we have Chi, he’s also like the typical cliché teen. He has a hidden or secret story in his past that we all want to find out why and how. But he is really cool. He really does care for someone or let just say Thia.

I really like their tandem. And I really enjoyed reading the book.

Also, the side characters (which soon be considered main characters) are amazing and I love them. As much as they are side characters, they really build up the whole story. Chase and Taylor are both amazing but sometimes they seem to be complicated because of the bipolar kind of friendship they share.

And just so you know, William is not part of the side characters that I love. He is my most hated character in the entire story, although, I’m open to the fact that he might change. But the chances are slight and that he won’t be believable by then.

I won’t anything more because I don’t want to spoil you. Got buy a copy and find out more of the story and the characters.

So over all, I really love and enjoy the book. Books written by authors that aren’t widely known yet are really amazing and worth the read.

So that’s it. Also check out my short review on Goodreads.

Thank you for reading and have a great day ahead!

And a huge thank you to Alice for sending me a review copy, which is on it’s way to me now. I just have to wait for October and for PhilPost to inform me that I have a mail. So thank you so much Alice! I really can’t wait to receive my copy.

Love,picsart_09-26-09.46.16.png

goodreadsdownload

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

