​BOOK REVIEW: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson



Title: The Unexpected Everything

Author: Morgan Matson

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 978-1-4814-8607-1 (Philippines Proprietary  Edition)

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Started: October 03, 2016

Ended: October 13, 2016

Ratings: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

goodreads-badge-add-38px


picsart_10-13-11.59.30.png
Andie had it all planned out.

Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before her dad’s political scandal. Before having to be in the same house with him. Before walking an insane number of dogs that was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?


picsart_10-13-11.58.19.png

Hello! Before I get started with my review on the book, let me tell you a story regarding this book.

So before this book was released, a lot of Morgan Matson’s fans were going crazy about the release of this book. I honestly didn’t know anything about the book because I’m kind of new to the blogging community and bookstagram. And besides, I wasn’t into the foreign books that much before. So was curious and the book cover is so beautiful and I can’t help but get a little excited about it too. 

The moment the book was released, I was dying to get my hands on it but the local bookstore nearest to me didn’t have the book yet, so I bought a different book then. It took me over 5 months, more or less, before I was able to get the book and be able to read. And now, here I am about to start my review on this amazing book.

If I didn’t say it yet, this is such an amazing book. The title really speaks for the entire book. Everything was unexpected. Before I got the book, all the reviews I heard from different people were all positive and that they really enjoyed it.

I also heard that the first part of the book is kind of dragging because there weren’t many conversations. I would disagree on some part but I really like how Morgan wrote the introduction of the book. As a reader, we should know as many information we can gather about the protagonist before we dive into her story. It’s nice that we get to learn a little from Andie past before we get into her life when everything went rolling down.

Andie is really an amazing protagonist. I can somehow see myself in her. I like that she’s a really good friend towards all her best friends. The way she treats them equally and not even thought of being superior. The way she handled her problems is admirable. If I was in her shoes, I would have break down a lot of times. That much pressure and stress would just lead to disorientation of my system. I really admire her for getting past it.

Palmer, Toby and Bri are the friends I wish I had. As much as things didn’t turn out the way they wanted it in the end, but at least they were such good friends. I like how Toby developed as a character, even though she was a part of the reason why things went the wrong way. Bri, on the other hand, is someone I can relate to myself right now. I kind of went through the things Bri went through. It gets tiring to always think of others well-being before your own. And when the time comes that you want to put yourself first, you end up being the bad person. Bri and I have the same problem. Palmer, I have no issues with her (so I won’t talk too much about her).

The friendship that the four of them have is #friendshipgoals.

Clark and Mr. Walker are awesome as well. I admire Clark because he’s a kind of guy that doesn’t take someone for granted. He let Andie hang out with her friends without getting mad or something like that. And we have Mr. Walker, he might not be a great father at the first part of the story but he is really great towards the middle then to the end.

So in total, the book is beyond what I expected it to be. I really enjoyed it, as much as I took a really long time before I got to finish it, but nonetheless, I really love it. I’m looking forward to read more of Morgan Matson’s books.

Oh, may I add, I really love the edition I have, because it has a deleted scene included plus a little letter from Morgan Matson to her Filipino fans. Yehey! Thank you for that, Morgan!

Anyway, that’s all. Thank you and have a great day!

download

goodreads

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

