BOOK REVIEW: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Hello there BiblioBears! I am back with another book review. This is going to be my first book review for the year 2017. I read this book last year, and finished it just before 2017 started.


I hope you enjoy my review.

2016-12-23-09.13.53-1.jpg.jpeg

Title: The Assassin’s Blade


Author: Sarah J. Maas


Format: Paperback

Publisher: Bloomsbury UK


Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance. Magic, Adventure, Novellas


Started: December 15, 2016


Ended: December 31, 2016

goodreads-badge-add-38px

divider

picsart_10-13-12.00.01.png

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

picsart_10-13-11.58.19.png

Let’s start off with how much I love the author. This is the second book I read by SJM. Her writing style is on point. I really love it. I love how she makes everything in the book seem really and not some fantasy story. But since this book was published 5 years ago, there are a few flaws. My boyfriend and I noticed that her dialogues needs improvement but her story telling is fine and really enjoyable. 

 

The world building in this book is great. I know how hard world building is that’s why I adore SJM’s style in her ToG books. The details she puts into every setting is remarkable. I can’t wait to see more of her writing and wordl building in her next books.

Celaena Sardothien is great. As much as she’s annoying at times, you can’t help but love her. Her wit and skills really draw me to loving her character. She’s one hell of an assassin. I love how she’s reserve but is also an all out kind of person. 

 

My loved side characters are Ansel and Sam. Too bad Sam died, this is no spoiler because Celaena has mentioned these in ToG. But I wished Sam didn’t die. Sam has a lot to prove to us and to Celaena. I really loved the relationship they share, even if it was for a short time only. 

 

Ansel on the other hand is another favorite of mine. Her armor is gorgeous, based on the details SJM wrote. I loved the fact that she was Celaena’s first real friend after she joined the Assassin’s Guild. But also hate the fact that they became strangers at the end of the story. And I’m glad Celaena spared Ansel’s life after finding out her plans with the Mute Assassin. I hope Ansel would appear in the next books.

 

The plots of each story in the book was great. But there was one story I loved the most. The story of The Assassin and the Healer almost brought me to tears. You can see there that behind Celaena’s mask, cloak and daggers, she has a heart that cares for people in need. She was so generous to the extend that she gave up her ruby brooch, given by Arobynn, to help the healer for her to enroll and learn more about healing.

 

Having a favorite story entitles me to also have a least favorite story. I don’t hate the story, I just find it boring but it doesn’t help in understanding the life of Celaena even more. The Assassin and the Underworld didn’t spark my interest in reading but since I badly want to read more about Celaena’s life, I just went with it. 

divider

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Thank you for reading and may you never lose your bookmarks while reading.

picsart_10-13-12.04.10.png

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

