BOOK REVIEW: The Crown by Kiera Cass

Hey there BiblioBears! Here is another book review, hope you enjoy it. If you haven’t read the last book of the series yet, it’s best you don’t read it.

*Read at your own risk. But I’ll let you know when the spoilers would start.*

“Nothing makes you quite so aware of a person’s presence as the loss of it.”

26074181.jpg

Title: The Crown (The Selection #5)

Author: Kiera Cass

Format: ebook (.epub file)

Publisher: Harper Teens

Genre: Young Adult, Dsytopia, Fantasy,  Romance

Started: January 7, 2017

Ended: January 12, 2017

goodreads-badge-add-38pxdivider

picsart_10-13-12.00.01.png

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined

Credits: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26074181-the-crown

dividerpicsart_10-13-11.58.19.png

Let’s start this review with some non-spoilery things.

If you have read my book review on The Heir, you would know that I adore Eadlyn so much. Her dedication to her family and people really is amazing. But what I didn’t like about her is the fact that she didn’t chose the guy that I want her to end up with. I’ll talk about that later.

The whole plot of the fifth book was half predictable and the other half unexpected. I hated the fact that somehow it was predictable but it was okay because we kinda know how things would be like. I also love the fact that some major and minor events were unexpected. As a reader, I am always a fan of books that would make you expect something but then there is a huge plot twist. I’m such a sucker for that kind of books. (Recommend any book that you think has that kind of story.)

This book was such an easy read for me. Kiera’s writing style is really reader’s friendly. It might seem that it took me quite a long time to finish it but I had an excuse. I’m a student and my time would be occupied with school stuff. The only time I get the chance to read is before going to bed.

*warning: spoilers ahead* I can’t seem to write a review without spoiling you guys. Sorry.

Let’s start off with the fact that Eadlyn is finally the queen without finishing the Selection, just yet. It’s great that she doesn’t have to wait for her parents to die before she can take over the crown. Also, I like that she was the one that opened the idea to her parents. The care and love she showed to both Maxon and America.

But what I didn’t like is her choosing ERIK over KILE! LIKE WHAT THE HELL, EADLYN?! Erik is definitely not a part of the Elite and it sucks that she has to bend a few rules just for her own benefit. But I guess I understand her, a little. She just wanted a fairy tale love story like her parents, which I think is weird. Her love story is no where near a fairy tale love story like the one her parents has.

It was great if she ended up with Kile. Kile has everything she needs for her to rule the kingdom with out worrying about trying to please her husband. And I guess, I still understand why Kile was banished from the kingdom for a year. She knows how much Kile loves architecture and it’s a great idea for Eadlyn to let Kile reach his dream. Besides we know that Kile is going to build houses for the poor that can somehow go back to Eadlyn. The poor can thank Eadlyn for sending Kile to build houses for them. But I still wished Eadlyn married Kile. Kile is used to the life she has, and he doesn’t have to make adjustments and get used to the life anymore. I guess, it’s a win-win situation for them.

There are a few side characters that left a mark while I was reading the book. First, we have Josie, the daughter of the Woodworks or Kile’s little sister. She reminds me so much of Celeste, from the first three books of the series. Both of them have this rude, prideful attitude but later on become someone who is really good, caring and understanding. I adore Josie because she has finally understand that the life of a princess is not about tiaras and gowns but also duties and responsibilities. There are so much things place on a princess shoulders not just sitting pretty. At least she finally understands and somehow is helping Eadlyn in her work.

Then we have Ahren, Eadlyn’s twin brother. I used to dislike him at the end of the fourth book. But in this book, I kinda like him now, which is weird. At least he was supportive with Eadlyn’s reign and that his wife is also into Eadlyn’s reign.

The last one would be such a shocker of you. ASPEN. You might have known or read from my previous reviews that I hated Aspen so much. Like there are so much things I can say to prove to you that I hate him, but now I want to say a few things that I like about him now. First is the fact that she remains as a good friend of America and Maxon after the whole commotion about the Selection. Second, the fact that he treats all of America and Maxon’s children as his own is amazing. His dedication to protecting the royal family is admirable.

149322stampelegantborderlyndsay.pngpicsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

*I apologize for not really showing you the tally of how I rated this book. I find it time consuming because of the fact that it gets messy when I copy and paste it from a .docx file.*

149322stampelegantborderlyndsay.png

So that’s the end of my review, I hope you like it. Please leave a comment on what you thought of my review and did you want Erik or Kile to end up with Eadlyn? Have a nice day and may you never lose your bookmark while reading, because I always misplace mine. Bye.

picsart_10-13-12.04.10.png

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

