BOOK REVIEW: Standing Ground by Alice Rachel

Hey there BiblioBears! I am back with another review. It’s been a while since my last review.

32791409.jpg

Title: Standing Ground (Under Ground #2)

Author: Alice Rachel

Format: Paperback (review copy)

Genre: Dystopian

Started: January 11, 2017

Ended: January 24, 2017

goodreads-badge-add-38pxdivider

picsart_10-13-12.00.01.png

When the authorities strike to regain control over the riots in Eboracum City, the citizens are forced to fight back to survive.

A virus has spread through the Underground, taking down the refugees one by one, soon contamination the rebels.

If Thia wants to save the ones she loves, she will have to retrieve the cure, quickly.

But certainly decisions are costly, and not all actions are free of consequences.

divider

picsart_10-13-11.58.19.png

(The author sent me the book for free, in exchange with an honest review.)

I only have one word for this review… HEARTBREAKING!

That word would sum up everything you need to know about this book. Characters you have grown to love would die in this book. Some of the characters’ pasts are haunting them. It feels weird to know that their lives weren’t what we expected it to be.

I had troubles continuing with this book over the past days because of all the emotions that were constantly building up in me while reading it. You can see the duration up there. It took me a long time to actually finish it. But I let the emotions shallow me up and just continue with finishing the book. And I regret nothing!

I can’t even seem to spoil you with the book. I don’t know what to say because there are too many scenes worthy to be talked about but I don’t want to spoil anyone with it.

So, I’ll just share some minor—somehow major—scenes that really brought me to the edge of my seat.

First is the fact that CHI ALMOST DIED! I was in school while I was reading this part of the book. I was so close to crying when I was reading it. I thought he was going to die. I thought the book’s going to finish without Chi in it. And I thought it’s just going to be Thia until the 3rd book. But I was relieved that he didn’t die. I was so happy that he didn’t exit the book with a sudden illness the government has unleashed.

Another was the fact that THIA’S MOTHER DIED! As much as I didn’t like her mother that much but for her to die. It was too much, I guess. She was started warming up with Chi and somehow, she has sacrificed a lot for Thia.

Then a lot other characters died. I won’t tell you all of them. It would too much for you to handle. But I guess reading the book would be too much to handle as well.

Let’s go right into the ending, where everything was so shocking. CHI WASN’T IN THE ENDING! It wasn’t Chi with Thia the whole time they were at Shawn’s rebel group. All along it was Stephen!

I love that Stephen is in the story. But where is Chi?

I totally can’t wait for the next book. I am excited to read other novellas.

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

⭐⭐⭐⭐

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o

Have a nice day and may you never lose your bookmark while reading, because I always misplace mine. Bye.

picsart_10-13-12.04.10.png

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

