BOOK REVIEW: “Heartless” by Marissa Meyer

Hello there readers!

I am back again! Now with a book review. This is the only full length book that I’ve read over the past month. It sucks but it’s the best I can do.

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Format: Ebook

Reading Period: February 28 – March 21, 2017

goodreads-badge-add-38px

gold-brown-floral-divider-1

Synopsis

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Credits: goodreads


Review

This review isn’t going to be a detailed or spoilery one. I just want to share some of my thoughts while reading it.

In all honesty, I haven’t read any Alice in Wonderland books, even Alice in Wonderland itself. This is the first book with some wonderland thingy.

I read this book with the purpose of knowing the life of  the Queen of Hearts. I know that this is not really the real life of the Queen that Lewis Caroll has written. But I was still intrigued to read it.

The start of the book was a bit boring. Not because it was poorly written (the writing style is actually amazing especially that I listened to the audio book first before transferring to reading an ebook), but because of the typical character introduction. Nothing offensive for the avid fan of Marissa or to Marissa, herself. I actually salute her for having a really amazing and entertaining writing style.

I really enjoyed the story of how Jest reached Hearts and how he was from Chess and he’s a rook and not a actually joker, or is he? Anyway, his character is really cool. I like that he has fallen in love with the future of Queen of Hearts, who he plans to steal her heart for the White Queen. It’s really enjoyable reading the book.

I also enjoyed reading about Catherine, herself. She’s such a different character than what we know of her right now. I never thought that she was a good person and a really caring, loving and sweet person. It sucks that she has to go through all those hardships and later on be someone she’s not. It really sucks. I feel so sorry for her. I wish she never went through all those. (But if that didn’t happen to her, there would be no Alice, I guess.)

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I am rating this book a good five star! Totally worth the read. And you should listen to the audio book because the narrator did an amazing job reading the entire book.

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o

So that ends my little review. Hope you enjoyed it. Thank you and may you never lose your bookmark while reading.

•  W O N D E R S B E T W E E N P A G E S •

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

