BOOK REVIEW: “Confess” by Colleen Hoover

Hello there, beloved readers. I’m back with another short review.

Most of you, if not all, already know that Colleen Hoover’s book, Confess, is made into a TV show. And because of that, I decided to read the book before I watch it. (Just a friendly reminder, I don’t own a physical copy of the book, I read it on my phone.)

Title: Confess

Author: Colleen Hoover

Format: ebook

Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Fiction

Reading Period: March 30 – April 2, 2017

goodreads-badge-add-38px

gold-brown-floral-divider-1

Synopsis

Auburn Reed is determined to rebuild her shattered life and she has no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to become deeply attracted to the studio’s enigmatic artist, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is hiding a huge secret. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it—but can she do it?

With her moving and compelling prose, Hoover “will pull heartstrings in this second-chance love story”

Credits: Goodreads

Review

This is the very first CoHo book I’ve read. My expectations for her books are so high that I don’t want to disappoint myself. We all know how love by the community her books are. With the hype going around, I want to meet the hype. And O M G! I wasn’t disappointed. The book was amazing, more than I could ever ask for.

So since most, if not all, of you have read the book, I’ll just say a few words about this amazing book.

At the start of the book, I was confused about the fact that Owen knowing Auburn. It’s confusing because Auburn said that it was their first time seeing each other. But I guess, I’m not the only one who got confused, right? All the confusion was fixed once the book concluded which made everything make sense.

I like the idea of writing a confession anonymously and then someone would interpret the confession into a beautiful painting. I wish someone is capable of doing that. It’s such a good idea. It could help the artist have inspiration and it helps a person get release their greatest fears or thoughts and not worry about getting known.

Aside from all those, I have a little thing to say about some of the characters in the book. I’ll share my thoughts or feelings toward that specific character. Let’s start with someone we don’t actually see in the book but has always been mentioned throughout the book. Adam, the father of Auburn’s son, is someone I adore even if he wasn’t really in the book. He only had an appearance in the very last part of the book, which was a flashback. He’s an awesome guy and if he didn’t die, he would be an amazing father and husband to his family.

Auburn, the teenage mom who’s having troubles in getting custody to her son, is a very strong woman. She’s been through a lot since having AJ. As much as she has those days when she’s feeling weak or hopeless, I still find her strong. She was able to fight back and got the one thing she desired. I like the fact that she’s someone a lot of teen moms would relate to. I also like the fact that she’s a realistic person. You can clearly see her experiences being experienced by many in our society today.

Owen, the guy with OMG as his initials, is such a talented guy. As much as he only learned how to paint when he got Adam’s art supplies, he’s talent is one of a kind, if you ask me. I love his personality. The fact that he is willing to give up his own freedom for his father’s sake and that he’s willing to not see Auburn for days, or weeks. He really has a big heart and deserves what he has today. He can be a really great father to AJ, even if he’s not really his dad.

Then we have the two people I grow to hate in this book. Trey and Lydia are mean af. They are such annoying people. How selfish could they get? They can’t allow AJ growing up without his mother with him all the time. He needs his mother with him. He no longer has a father and now it seems he has no mother. Lydia and Trey should have given Auburn the custody of AJ after studying. I don’t get their point for doing so. Well at least now, AJ is reunited with her mother.

So that ends my final thoughts on the book. You now know I love this book so much and would read other CoHo books someday.

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for reading and may you never lose you bookmark while reading.

Wanders Between Pagesss

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

