BOOK REVIEW: “Somewhere In Between” by Katie Li

Hey! Hey! Hey! I’m back with another book review today. This time, I’m reviewing a book that was sent to me by the author for free in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Somewhere In Between

Author: Katie Li

Format: Paperback (review copy)

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance

Reading Period: March 28 – April 16, 2017

goodreads-badge-add-38px

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o

Two friends find a portal to another dimension and use this “in-between place” to avoid the stress of their everyday lives. What they don’t realize is that every time they enter, they alter reality.

 Pseudo-punk Magnolia and underachieving gamer-geek Rom are two unlikely friends who only hand out during their walks home together after school. When they find a portal that leads to different worlds, they use the “in-between place” as an escape from their lives in high school, then later, after college.

Their visits through the portal bring them teetering along a tight-rope of fantasy and reality, where they don’t always believe what is in front of them, not even their feelings for each other.

Inspired by the work of Haruki Murakami and films like Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Somewhere In Between is a metaphysical coming-of-age story about defining love and finding yourself.

13639846_1173959879321979_1426428966_o

I feel in love with the cover of this book the moment I received the package. I wanted to read it right away but I had to wait because I have a long line of books waiting to be read. I was drawn to the book the more I ignore it, so I decided to read it last month.
I love the first line of the book. It made me think about it twice and completely understand what she meant by it.

“Tuesday is always the worst day.”

You would also be curious why she thought of that. So technically, the first sentence draws me to read further. But it’s sad to say that I didn’t completely understand where the story was leading. I couldn’t identify the flash back. I do know that there were flashbacks, but I just couldn’t tell which is which. I feel bad about myself for not identifying it.

I was lost how those little things are important to the story. I didn’t get it. That’s why it took me over 3 weeks before I was able to finish it. And to think this book has less than 200 pages. It is expected that I’ll be able to read this book in one sitting but I feel bad that this book isn’t my cup of tea. I guess, I belong more in contemporary books but I am still open to reading books with the same genre in the near future.

Although upon rereading the synopsis of the book, I am able to understand the flow of the story now than before. So I won’t really give this book a small rating, instead I’m giving it a 3 star.

⭐⭐⭐

So, that ends my review. I hope you enjoyed it and made you want to read this book, if it’s your cup of tea. Thank you and may you never lose your bookmark while reading.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

