TO-BE READ: May 2017

Hey! Hey! Hey!

It’s been awhile since I last made a to-be read list. I’m such an indecisive person. I hate the fact that I can’t decide which book to read first. I can’t seem to choose my priority. Now I have decided to start with the books sent to me by authors or publishers. But I would still read a few books by my favorite authors.

  1. The Red Sun by Alane Adams

This book was sent to me by the author herself, in exchange for an honest review. I got this book over 4 months already but never got the chance to read it because I’m indecisive. Now, I know I must read this book this month. I owe the author this review.

After meeting a strange dwarf in his garage and finding out his substitute English teacher is a witch, twelve-year-old Sam Baron travels through a stonefire to the magical realm of Orkney where he finally learns the truth about his past: his mother is a witch and his father is a descendant of the Norse god, Odin.

“The Red Sun” is the first book in The Legends of Orkney, the spellbinding series of adventure fantasy novels by Alane Adams. It follows Sam to the realm of Orkney where witches, wraiths, and other menacing creatures cause serious peril to the unsuspecting Sam. Now, it’s up to him to save his friends and all of Orkney from a cursed red sun. Can a young witch girl named Mavery help him?

2. IA: B.O.S.S. by John Winston

This book was also sent to me by the author, also in exchange for an honest review. This the sequel to IA: Initiate. I have a review of that book here. And just like the book sent by Ms. Adams, I received this book around 4 months ago but never got the chance to read it right away. (I hate myself for doing that though.) But I really plan to read this book this month.

The most important thing in the world to thirteen-year-old orphan “Naz” Andersen is keeping his little sister, Meri, safe from the mean streets of the Exclave and insidious foster parent, Miss Tracey. Until now, he’s done just that. But after losing his best friend to suspicious circumstances, Naz turns his attention to ruthless gang leader, Roffio Styles, and the Incubus Apostles. But to find out the truth, Naz will need to once again summon the world within, and with the help of Meri and his therapist Dr. Gwen he begins to discover that the voices in his head, his nightmares, and sleepwalking are actually telekinesis and telepathy at play: a gift from his father of whom he has no memory.

But when Naz gets too close to the truth and tragedy strikes again, he is compelled to unleash his newfound abilities, wield his own unique brand of destruction, and bring his friends’ murderers to justice.

  1. Summer Unscripted by Jen Klein

This book, I won it from a giveaway hosted by a local bookstore. I was one of the lucky three winners to get this copy. It took over a month before I could pick it up from the bookstore’s branch in my province. This book is an Advance Readers Copy. It is set to be released by June 2017. Because of that, I have to read this book before it is official released to the world.

A summer romance about missed connections and how not to miss out on the love of your life. For fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han.

Girl looks for a sign. Enter: boy.

Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler—quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that literally puts into words exactly how she’s been feeling lately, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?

Girl follows boy. Enter: second boy.

Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But when she arrives, Rainie discovers things aren’t that simple. And she meets Milo, a super-cute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicated past.

Girl needs to figure stuff out. Enter: drama.

  1. Dream Me by Kathryn Blara

I recently got this book from our post office. It took over 2 months before I got it on my hands. But I am glad I have it now before this book is official out to the published. It is set to be out by July 2017. So, you should check it out soon.

Zat is a dreamer from the distant future—a time when humans no longer dream and Earth is a desolate wasteland. He dreams of the beautiful Earth of the past, and a fiery-haired beauty named Babe. Against the wisdom of his peers, Zat decides to risk everything to travel back in time and live in Babe’s dreams…

Babe is the perpetual new girl in town. Her father’s job frequently moves the family around the country, and Babe just longs for a place to call home. As she settles into the sleepy town of Sugar Dunes, Florida, Babe begins to have strange dreams of a green-eyed boy named Zat. Night after night, Babe shows Zat her world. But the dreams come at the cost of nearly crippling migraines every morning. Babe’s life outside of her dreams pales in comparison to her growing love for Zat and their time spent together.

But the more time Babe and Zat spend together in her dreams, the more Babe’s pain increases, and Zat begins to question the reality of his existence. How can he live a life with Babe, when all they have is her dreams? 

Can a dream become a reality?

EditI hope those synopsis made you want to read the books mentioned above. You can send me a message on my Instagram and let’s buddy read any one of it.

In addition to all those above, I’ll be having other books to read as well. You’ll find out about it by the end of the month, until then, you should check out my other posts here.

Thank you and may you never lose your bookmark while reading. Bye!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

