BOOK REVIEW: “Ugly Love” by Colleen Hoover

Hey there readers! I’m back with another review. Lately, I’ve been into Colleen Hoovers books. And I gotta say it is living to it’s hype.

Title: Ugly Love

Author: Colleen Hoover

Format: ebook and audiobook

Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary

Reading Period: May 10 – 13, 2017

 

Synopsis

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn’t think it’s love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only think Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.

Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.

Promises get broken.

Rules get shattered.

Love gets ugly.

Review

“It’s the beautiful moments like these that make up for the ugly love.”

Above is the closing line of the book and I could say it’s my favorite quote from the book. It says a lot of things that we know are being taken for granted in our society today.  And I think we should be aware that things, or people, shouldn’t be taken for granted. We should give purpose to the people around us all the time.

Anyway, upon reading this book, I didn’t read the synopsis. I never thought it was going to be a little mature, although I am old enough to read those kinds of things. As a book written by CoHo, I expected it to be just a fast and fun read. It was, don’t get me wrong. I just had troubles getting into it because of the relationship between Tate and Miles. I might have a different opinion with you guys, I but that’s what I got to say. I don’t really enjoy topics with friends with benefits theme but I salute the author to be able to tackle the topic in a less controversial way.

But the entire story is amazing. I love that we got to learn the reasons why Miles thinks he isn’t capable of loving someone else. I also love the fact that he was willing to face his past and see for himself what happened and how Rachel coped up with both their past. Just like what Rachel it, Miles is really brave to do such. It takes a lot of courage for someone to do just that.

I really adore Tate for her dedication to pursue Miles even if it hurts her a lot. But I don’t like her idea of letting Miles use her and her body just to be with him. But I still adore her for her dedication. I also like the fact that she’s so dedicated to her studies that she really has time for both school and being in a so-called relationship. In this generation, not everyone in a relationship are doing going in their studies.

I think that would be it. I won’t talk too much about the book. I know most of you have already read it, so you already know how the story played.

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

 ⭐⭐⭐⭐

gold-brown-floral-divider-1

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed that little review.

Wanders Between Pagesss

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

