BOOK REVIEW: “A Court of Wings and Ruin” by Sarah J. Maas

“What we think to be our greatest weakness can sometimes be our biggest strength.”

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult, Retelling, New Adult, Fiction

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publication Date: May 2, 2017

ISBN: 9781408857908

Reading Period: May 3 – May 20, 2017

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

Visit sarahjmaas.com to now more about this book.

(This is a spoiler free review because I don’t want to spoil those who haven’t read the book.)

So first and foremost, I had this dilemma of not wanting to read this because I didn’t want this series to end. I wasn’t ready to say good bye to Rhysand and Feyre just yet. But then again, I was also thinking that I really want to know how things would turn out for all of them.

So I decided just to go with it and just slowly devour the book than binge reading it. I love that I read it slowly; I was then able to understand and savor the story and how everything feels.

The first thing that I love about this book is the fact that Feyre is now someone I adore because of her bravery and how she’d do everything she can just to protect the people she loves. She did a lot of things in this book that you want to know about. You’ll love Feyre more with this book. Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court, is as always the best. He is still this charming Rhys we all know from the first book until this book. But the part close to the ending almost broke me. It brought me to tears and I was waiting for a plot twist, and it happened and I’m glad the book didn’t end in a sad note.

In this book you’ll have this love hate situation with some of the characters. Like Elain, Nesta, Amren, Tamlin, Mor and probably for Feysand. But then again, it would really depend on you. But for me, I have some issues with the decisions made by some of the characters.

I love that we got to see more of the other courts because in the previous books only the Summer, Spring and Night Court were featured. It’s nice to see the Winter Court’s place and it’s High Lord. Also about Dawn and Autumn Courts. We also got the chance to know the other High Lords better.

Also, I love that everything was well put into place but I just wished the book was divided into two. As much as I love the book, there is so much going on in one book. It seems the events were having too fast. But then again, if it ws divided the story might end up to draggy. And w don’t like dragging stories or plots.

So, all in all, I love the story and how everything was written. SJM would always be my favorite author, one of my favorites though. I can’t wait for her next books and I can’t wait to read the rest of the Throne of Glass books.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

