BOOK REVIEW: Summer Unscripted by Jen Klein

Title: Summer Unscripted

Author: Jen Klein

Format: Paperback (ARC)

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Released Date: June 13, 2017

ISBN: 9781524700041

Girl looks for a sign. Enter: Boy

Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler–quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that literally puts into words exactly how she’s been feeling lately, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?

Girl follows Boy. Enter: Second boy.

Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But when she arrives, Rainie discovers that things aren’t so simple. And she meets Milo, a super-cute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicatef past.

Girl need to figure stuff out. Enter: Drama.

I’d like to thank our local bookstore for picking me as one of the winners to receive this ARC.

I started reading this book with the thoughts that this book would be cliché and that it would be a fun and quick read. I love reading books with a summer vibes to it but this book didn’t have one. And as much as the cover has the summer vibes, the story didn’t. But it the book was fun to read though. It took me over a month to finish because I was out and about during the summer break.

The entire story is something new to me because it was my first time reading a book with a theater as the main setting of the entire story. It was also my first time reading about Greek mythology. (Shame on me for not reading the Percy Jackson yet!)

 I love the friendship between Ella and Rainie in this story. I somehow can relate to it because I used to have a friend that wasn’t my friend for a long time. Then just recently we became friends. And that’s how their friendship played out in the story.

The romance part of the book was fun and was also complicated. I sometimes laugh at how oblivious and annoying Rainie was and how she’s so dedicated to date this certain guy. Then this complication between Ella and the guy Rainie fancies.

I believe the book is a roller coaster ride. Sometimes you get excited over the monologue of Tuck. Then you’ll get annoyed because Rainie just befriend an old friend to take advantage of her. It just goes on and on and on. All the ups and downs of the story was worth the month of devouring it.

So I recommend this book if you are up for a roller coaster ride during the summer break, in the comforts of your own home or bedroom. Pick it up now!

                              🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thank you for reading and have a great day ahead, book dragons! Bye!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

