BOOK REVIEW: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

17167166.jpg

Title: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Format/Edition: UK Paperback

Published: 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

ISBN: 978-1-4088-3494-7

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Synopsis

CROWN BY EVIL.

BOUND BY DUTY.

DIVIDED BY LOVE.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood — but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, puts those she loves at risk.
Torn between her two protectors — a captain and a prince — and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom.

Review
It took me over a year to read the next installment of the Throne of Glass series.  But I am happy that I got to read it.

A fair warning to those who hasn’t started the series or has not read Crown of Midnight, I suggest you leave now and returleavingyou’ve read the entire book. You’ll be spoiled if you continue. Don’t say I never warned you.
So on with the actual review:

The fact that a lot had happen over the span of the competition to the first person Celaena “killed”, it made me think twice about this series. It made me want to push through it because she has to fake it, to make it. She just wants her freedom.

Ever since the first book, I have been such a huge shipper of Chaol and Celaena and Dorian. The love triangle in this series. But towards the very end of the first book, we’ve noticed that Celaena and Chaol are more drawn to each other. And that is very visible in the second book. We get to see more of Celaena and Chaol. And I love it so much. I never thought that I would ship them until this book. I’ve always ship the female lead to the prince.  But this book made me think twice about it. Which I admire so much.

It’s shocking to know that Celaena didn’t really kill the people the King asked her to kill. At least Celaena still has a heart! I also like the fact that Celaena would do anything to get her freedom. Even to the extent of killing a long list of people given by the King.

I was shocked that Nehemia died! She doesn’t deserve to die. But then again, she was fine when she died. She expected it to happen. But that death resulted to the conflict between Chaol and Celaena. I don’t want them to fight. I want them together. They’re too perfect together to end their relationship that way.

It’s weird that Celaena learned to yield Wyrd symbols. Like how? Does she have powers? But like what she said, she just followed what was written on the book. And it’s weird finding out that Celaena was a Fae. Who would have thought that she is a Fae. That explains why she’s so strong and she’s able to be who she is today.

Another thing that shocked me was the fact that Dorian has powers. Like how did he acquires should power? But at least he’s not his father, because it was his father having that kind of power, he might have been able to destroy the entire kingdom already, especially that he might have the one of the Wyrdkeys.

Poor little Chaol left out of the whereabouts of Celaena and Dorian one night. But at least he was the only person Celaena revealed everything about her. The fact that Chaol is the only person who knew about Celaena being Aelin. The lost Queen of Terrasen.

All those really made want to continue the entire series. I will read Heir of Fire as soon as I can.

One last detail: Chapter 55 broke me! It hurts knowing Chaol is the reason Celaena is leaving Adarlan. I don’t want them to separate. I don’t want them to not see each other. It would only mean, Celaena would see other guys because she’d be the “queen” in that place. But then again, it didn’t completely broke me because Aelin/Celaena would be safe with her people and that everything would turn out right, someday.

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

gold_stargold_stargold_stargold_stargold_star

gold-brown-floral-divider-1

Thank you for reading and may you have a great day ahead.

Wanders Between Pagesss

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

