​BOOK REVIEW: Letters from Sam to Kylie by Lyss Venice

“But sometimes, the things one thought could happen were the things that would never happen at all.”

34348888.jpg

Title: Letters from Sam to Kylie

Author: Lyss Venice

Publisher: Polyethnic Publishing

Published: May 31, 2017

Format: Ebook

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Sam Kallis wants Kylie Darthrow to forgive him. The problem? She wants absolutely nothing to do with him. However, when Sam finds himself in a comatose state, Kylie receives a bottle of twenty-two letters, and she know that this might be the last thing he will ever give her. As she reminisces the past, a new perspective of Sam will arise and a basket of regrets and failed promises will soon be brought to light. After everything that has happened, will Kylie be able to forgive him? And if she does, will Sam ever wake up to hear it? Because a friendship mixed with feelings and betrayal could only last so long before someone throws it away.

I needed a little breath of contemporary.

This book helped me get out of my reading slump. I’d like to say a huge thank you to Hanna from @hannabananareads for the advise.

I love the fact that the entire book is short and really as fast read. And plus it’s written by a Filipino author! Such pride and honor for reading a book by my kababayan (countrymen).

I love the plot of the book. But I didn’t like how it started. It started with a sad news and I don’t like sad news. But then again I know there is a reason why the author did just that. I do admire authors who can write things like that.

The concept of letters is something we, Filipinos, have in our tradition. And it brings me back to the time when emails weren’t a thing yet. And people would write love letters to their significant other. This book really made me wished to write letters and just send it to people. But the book is quite depressing because of what happened to Sam just to give the letter he wrote for Kylie.

And it’s quite disturbing how those letters relate to their past. It breaks my heart that Kylie was so oblivious with Sam’s true feelings for her. If I was in her shoes, I would acknowledge that feeling and not ignore it. We might not know what might happen to that person in the days to come. Just like what happened to both of them.

It pains me to read more about the letters and their past, knowing well enough that things might not turn good in the end. And I was right! It went downhill and Kylie didn’t even got the courage to tell him the truth about what she felt towards Sam. It’s clear to me, though, that she likes him for more than a friend. She’s just denying it because she knows Sam won’t make it.

This book made me cry! And I didn’t expect that I would.

Totally worth the read and worth the tears. I recommend this to those wanting to make their selves cry and to those who are in a slump.

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

★★★★☆

gold-brown-floral-divider-1
Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Wanders Between Pagesss

Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter

For reviews, email me at rosebooksnreads@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

