BOOK REVIEW: “Hopeless” by Colleen Hoover

Hello Bibliophiles!

I’m back to bring you another book review of CoHo’s books. I read this book over 2 weeks ago and just wrote a review today. School was in the way most of the time, so I had less time writing a review.

So here goes…

gold-brown-floral-divider-115717943

Title: Hopeless

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Books

Published: December 19, 2012

Format: Audiobook and Ebook

goodreads-badge-add-38px

 

Synopsis

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies.

That’s what seventeen year old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secret he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

Review

This month was filled with some Colleen Hoover reads. You can check out my early July Wrap Up.

I read this book without actually reading the synopsis of the book. I read this with no idea about the premise of the book. AND OMG! I’m glad I did it because it made me see things so differently. And the shock factors are there! I can’t help but admire the book even if it has a different kind of message.

CoHo certainly writes the most amazing books ever! I can’t wait to read the rest of her books.

*spoiler review coming*

I never thought that this book was about abuse at all. Upon reading the first part of the book, I was so into it that I was expecting it to be a cliché book. The typical high school rumors ruining a new girl’s life made the start a bit cliché for me. But aside from that it was all amazing minus the abuse thing though.

I was so shocked that Hope and Sky are the same two people and the fact that Sky was capable of forgetting her past just like that. I never expected that it’s possible. Maybe because she suffered too much under her father’s roof that she was capable to forgetting it all. I felt the pain of Holder when he found out that Sky and Hope is the same person. Like that would be so painful, at the same time overwhelming.

I was also shocked that Sky was kidnapped by her own aunt without knowing it! LIKE WHAT THE HELL?! It’s so unbelievable! But I completely understand why her aunt did it. It’s to save Hope from suffering too much. It also shocked me that Hope’s best friend suffered the same faith as her when she left her father. It sucks that Les went through it. (I’ll talk about that on my next review).

I’m glad that Holder was able to find Hope and I’m glad Hope or Sky was able to find out about the issue before Karen, her aunt, told her. It was best that she found out on her own and that she got the time to process everything. As much as it’s bad to be thankful that someone died, I was thankful that her father died or killed himself. Because if he didn’t he can possible do the same thing to Hope all over again.

picsart_12-03-09.59.55.png

★★★★★

gold-brown-floral-divider-1

That ends my review. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Wanders Between Pagesss

Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter

For reviews, email me at rosebooksnreads@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

